Tuesday, October 13, 2015

RTDNA Presents Edward R. Murrow Awards At Gala

The Radio-Television-Digital News Association RTDNA Monday presented its 2015 National Edward R. Murrow Awards, which recognize work of the highest quality produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world, at its annual Awards Gala in New York City.

This year, RTDNA awarded 104 national Edward R. Murrow Awards in 13 categories including Feature Reporting, Hard News, Overall Excellence and more. RTDNA received more than 4,200 entries during the 2015 awards season, setting an all-time record for the third year in a row.
For the second year in a row, ABC News Radio and ABC News (television) both won the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence at the network level.

To receive an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must exemplify the highest standards in serving its audience through quality electronic or digital journalism.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2015 are:
  •  ABC News, New York (Network Television)
  • ABC News Radio, New York (Network Radio)
  • The Denver Post, Denver (Large Online News Organization)
  • Free Press Media, Burlington, VT (Small Online News Organization)
  • KING-TV, Seattle (Large Market Television)
  • KETV-TV, Omaha, NE (Small Market Television)
  • WCBS, New York (Large Market Radio)
  • New Hampshire Public Radio, Concord, NH (Small Market Radio)
Edward R. Murrow
Three newsrooms each had a story win in two categories this year. In the Small Market Radio division, WGLT-FM, the NPR affiliate at Illinois State University in Normal, IL won for both News Series and Investigative Reporting for its entry Police and Race in the Twin Cities: A WGLT News Investigative 5-part Series. In the Large Market Radio division, KIRO-FM in Seattle won for Sports Reporting and Use of Sound for its entry Something Special. And in the Large Market Television division, KXAS-TV (in partnership with the Dallas Morning News) won for News Series and Investigative Reporting for its entry Injured Heroes.

Presenters for the event at New York's Gotham Hall, which drew a crowd of more than 400 people, included NBC's Tamron Hall, CBS' Steve Kathan and Barry Peterson, ABC's David Muir, Al Jazeera America's Ray Suarez and RTDNA Chair Kathy Walker.

A list of winners with links to the winning entries, Click Here.

No comments:

Post a Comment