Tuesday, February 23, 2021

Talk Show Boot Camp To Honor Clark Howard

The radio industry’s Talk Show Boot Camp™ returns for its 12th consecutive year and has named Clark Howard the recipient of this year’s Andrew Ashwood Award. Clark is known to most of us as a consumer guru and radio legend. He announced he is ending his syndicated show at the end of this year which caps off an amazing 23-year run on national radio.

Clark Howard
The award is named in honor of Andrew Ashwood, who was the former head of programming at Fox Sports Radio. We lost Andrew in 2008 at the age of 51 after a long battle with esophageal cancer. Andrew was an inspiration to anyone who crossed his path or worked under his substantial shadow. A bigger-than-life personality and one of the most positive people you could ever meet are just a couple of his lasting attributes that continue to inspire this award. In that light, Talk Show Boot Camp™ recognizes an industry leader each year who has personified those traits with a positive impact across the radio business.

Traditionally, each year's recipient is charged with selecting the following year's honoree. In selecting Howard for this year's coveted award, last year's recipient Greg Moceri said, "When I was given the privilege of selecting someone who exemplified the positivity that Andrew did for our industry, it took me two seconds to say Clark Howard. Having worked and associated with him for 30 years, he was an instant selection on how many ways he has demonstrated that positivity and has helped millions through the years. "In Clark we trust” impacted his knowledge and authenticity in our industry for decades and it continues today. Clark was an instant choice to carry on this great tradition of honoring Andrew.“

Past winners of the Andrew Ashwood Award include: Gabe Hobbs, Rick Scott, Bruce Gilbert, Jim Farley, Kraig Kitchen, Glenn Beck, Chris Oliviero, Julie Talbot, Harvey Nagler, Randy Michaels and last year’s recipient, Greg Mocerei. Talk Show Boot Camp Twelve will be virtual this year and held on March 18 and 19. The event is presented each year by Don Anthony’s Talentmasters and Gabe Hobbs Media. 

Registration is open at www.talkshowbootcamp.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment