Monday, April 3, 2017

ACMs: Aldean Repeats, Miranda Makes History

Jason Aldean extended his reign Sunday night as the Academy of Country Music's top entertainer, while Miranda Lambert made history with a record-breaking eighth Female Vocalist of the Year win on a night of spectacle and surprise in Las Vegas, according to The Tennessean.

“I can’t even believe I can say that,” Lambert said of breaking Reba's McEntire’s longstanding record in the category. “I’m really so thrilled that I can still help lead the charge for women in this business at any level, songwriters, anybody behind the scenes, managers, whatever it is. I’m just thrilled I can keep pushing forward and making a way for other women to do the same thing. I’m really humbled by it.”

Lambert also picked up her fifth Album of the Year win with her double album “The Weight of These Wings."

Thomas Rhett, another of the evening's top winners, was left virtually speechless after accepting awards for Song of the Year with “Die a Happy Man” and Male Vocalist of the Year.

“I don’t have a whole lot of words except for everyone in this category are my idols,” Rhett said after receiving the second award. “Everyone in this category shaped the artist that I am. I try and be the best singer I can. This is a very humbling, humbling experience.”

The 52nd ACM Awards were again co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley — this time from Las Vegas’ new T-Mobile Arena, which allowed for larger stages and an even bigger audience.

It was the first of three performances over the three-hour show for top nominee Urban who later wowed with a soulful version of his twice-nominated “Blue Ain’t Your Color.” Through tempo and artful guitar work, Urban nimbly sewed his last No. 1 into his current single, “The Fighter” for a fun and flirty performance with duo partner and new label mate Carrie Underwood.

Duos and collaborations were a theme of the evening. McEntire and Christian music star Lauren Daigle performed the single “Back to God.” And Brett Eldredge sparked a collaboration of a different kind, incorporating the cast of Las Vegas’ critically acclaimed acro-cabaret variety show “Absinthe” into his performance of “Somethin’ I’m Good At.”

Lambert didn’t have a band much less a duo partner when she backed herself on acoustic guitar for brave and emotional performance of “Tin Man” that was easily one of night’s best.

The full list of winners
  • Entertainer of the Year: Jason Aldean
  • Male Vocalist of the Year: Thomas Rhett
  • Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert
  • Vocal Duo of the Year: Brothers Osborne
  • Vocal Group of the Year: Little Big Town
  • Album of the Year: "The Weight of These Wings," Miranda Lambert; Producers: Frank Liddell, Eric Masse, Glenn Worf; Record Labels: RCA Nashville, Vanner Records
  • Songwriter of the Year: Lori McKenna
  • New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year: Brothers Osborne
  • New Female Vocalist of the Year: Maren Morris
  • New Male Vocalist of the Year: Jon Pardi
  • Single Record of the Year: Florida Georgia Line, "H.O.L.Y." Producer: Joey Moi; Record Label: Big Machine Label Group
  • Vocal Event of the Year: Florida Georgia Line featuring Tim McGraw, "May We All;" Producer: Joey Moi; Record Label: Big Machine Label Group
  • Song of the Year: "Die a Happy Man," Thomas Rhett; Songwriters: Thomas Rhett, Sean Douglas, Joe Spargur; Publishers: EMI Blackwood Music Inc (BMI), Cricket On The Line (BMI), Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp (BMI), Eastman Pond Publishing (BMI), Music of Big Deal (BMI), Nice Life (BMI), Frederic And Reid Music (BMI), BMG Platinum Songs (BMI), Brodsky Spensive Publishing (BMI)
  • Video of the Year: "Forever Country," Artists of Then, Now and Forever; Director: Joseph Kahn; Producers: Nathan de la Rionda, Jil Hardin, Charleen Manca, Joanna Carter, Chandra LaPlume, Sarah Trahern, Damon Whiteside

No comments:

Post a Comment