Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Late WBZ-AM Reporter Lana Jones Among 2018 MBHOF Class

Lana Jones
Longtime WBZ 1030 AM reporter Lana Jones, who died suddenly in April of an aortic tear, will be inducted into the Massachusetts Broadcasters Hall of Fame (MBHOF) in September along with nine others, according to The Boston Globe.

Jones, who spent nearly 30 years at Newsradio WBZ as a reporter, is part of a deep class of MBHOF inductees with hundreds of years of broadcasting experience between them.

“Each new member of the Hall of Fame, in her or his own way, has touched generations of audiences across our Commonwealth, keeping them informed and entertained,” MBHOF President Peter Brown said in the release. “We are honored to recognize them for their outstanding achievements in broadcasting.”

The MBHOF will also honor the late automotive titan Ernie Boch with its Pioneer Award, given to “individuals or organizations who fundamentally contributed to broadcasting.”

Beyond Jones and Boch, the eight other 2018 inductees, in alphabetical order, are Emmy award-winning former WHDH journalist Victoria Block; Emmy award-winning former co-host of “Evening Magazine” Sara Edwards; retired Boston radio news veteran Listo Fisher; the recently retired “dean” of Western Massachusetts television journalism Ray Hershel; WCVB-TV Director of Public Affairs and Community Services and host/executive producer of “CityLine” Karen Holmes Ward; WCVB Chief Meteorologist Harvey Leonard; “This Old House” executive producer and director Russell Morash; and former WBCN deejay Maxanne Sartori, who spent seven years at the pioneering rock radio station during its early years.

Tickets for the Sept. 20 induction and awards luncheon are available on the MBHOF website.

No comments:

Post a Comment